Borrowdale CE Primary School
  • Search


Once upon a time...

Still image for this video
"Children get off to a flying start in the Early Years Foundation Stage, which prepares them well for learning in Key Stage 1" - Ofsted 2014

In the Foundation Stage we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. Children engage in indoor and outdoor activities which cover the six areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development;
  • Communication, Language and Literacy;
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy;
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World;
  • Physical Development;
  • Creative Development.


None of the areas is delivered in isolation from the others, and all are delivered through planned, purposeful child-initiated activities, balanced with a range of adult-led activities.